Send your state organization, chapter and individual accomplishments to Nita Scott at for an opportunity to be in the spotlight.

Dr. Sigrún Klara

In 1967, an Icelandic girl who was finishing her studies at the University of Iceland applied for a Fulbright Scholarship to study in the USA. She received a World Fellowship Award from Delta Kappa Gamma and was accepted to Wayne State University in Detroit. Her name is Sigrún Klara Hannesdóttir. At that time, she did not know anything about Delta Kappa Gamma—she was simply told that they would be financing her studies. But later she learned all about our Society-- and more.

In November 2017, Dr. Sigrún Klara received an invitation from the Fulbright Foundation in Iceland to attend a reception linked to their Thanksgiving dinner. People from the American Embassy also attended this celebration to honor those who had a Fulbright anniversary. Sigrún Klara was the oldest recipient because it had been 50 years since she received the World Fellowship Scholarship.

Dr. Sigrún Klara Hannesdottir’s work for our Society is impressive:

• In 1975 she became one of the founders of the first chapter of the Delta Kappa Gamma Society in Iceland, Alpha Chapter. She has been very active in Iceland, where she has served in all leading roles, as chapter president, state organization president, and parliamentarian.

• On the International level she was the Europe Regional Director (2002-2004), Second Vice President (2008 – 2010), member of Ad hoc Committee for Revision of the Constitution (2009 – 2010), and member of the Editorial Board (2010 – 2014). She has also chaired the World Fellowship Committee.

• Sigrún Klara has attended almost all international conventions and Europe regional conferences and has given presentations and seminars at most of them.

• At the Europe Regional Conference 2013 in Amsterdam, Sigrun Klara received the DKG International Achievement Award from then international president Dr. Beverly Helms. She is still the only European member to receive that award. Previously, she received the European Achievement award in 2009.


Gail Goolsby

Posted on 10/15/2020

Beth Herrington

Posted on 5/28/2020

Dr. Evelyn Lugo-Morales

Posted on 3/3/2020

Reshanta Stewart

Posted on 10/23/2019

Barbra St Urbain

Posted on 5/24/2019
Member Spotlight: Barbara St Urbain

Maryann Woods-Murphy

Posted on 11/30/2018
Member Spotlight: Maryann Woods-Murphy

Linda McElroy

Posted on 10/3/2018
Member spotlight: Linda McElroy

MaryAnne Williams

Posted on 8/1/2018
Member spotlight - Maryanne Williams

Yvonne M. McShay

Posted on 6/7/2018
Member spotlight - Yvonne M. McShay

Dr. Sigrún Klara

Posted on 3/1/2018
Member spotlight: Dr. Sigrún Klara